Cosplay Confessions is yet another monthly feature I’ve added to my blog, though I’ve recently gotten a bunch of submissions so I may do it twice monthly if this persists. Every month (and maybe twice a month), I plan on featuring a different cosplayer and my interview with them, along with photos featuring their cosplays. This will not only be beneficial to the cosplayers themselves – because any publicity is good publicity when it comes to updating your fans on which conventions you’ll be at, and what you’re working on – but it will also be beneficial to those who are interested in cosplay as a hobby.

Since this is a new feature, I have asked some cosplayers I know to fill out my questions and it’s my great pleasure to introduce a terrific Dr. Who cosplayer I met at the Portland Comic Expo in Portland, Maine who is relatively new to the hobby but still rocks the original Doctor’s costume like no one else I’ve seen. His name is Bud Santos, and cosplaying runs in his family (just ask his son, who cosplays as a terrific Hellboy). On top of that, Bud is one of the nicest guys you’ll meet. On to the interview!

 

 

Bud Santos cosplays as the original Doctor Who.

Bud Santos cosplays as the original Doctor Who.

 

QUESTION: Hello! Many people reading this may not know much about you. Please tell us a little bit about yourself. How long have you been cosplaying?

Well, I’m 62 years old and I work in the engineering department at Stephens Memorial Hospital in Norway, Maine. Before that I managed the Kay Bee Toy store in Auburn, Maine. I have a BFA in Technical Theater from Emerson College in Boston, Mass. I only started cosplaying last year at the encouragement of my son Ben, who does a terrific Hellboy.

 

Bud Santos cosplaying as the original Doctor.

Bud Santos cosplaying as the original Doctor.

 

QUESTION: Do you attend many conventions? Which ones are your favorite to attend?

I have attended Portcon (Portland, Maine), In-CON-ceivable (Northampton, Mass) and the Portland Comic Expo (Portland, Maine). Portcon was my first so it has a special place in my heart.

 

Bud Santos cosplaying as the original Doctor.

Bud Santos cosplaying as the original Doctor.

 

QUESTION: Do you have any pet peeves when it comes to cosplaying?

My only pet peeve are the rare times someone puts down another cosplayer. This is definitely not cool.

 

Bud as The Doctor, posing with another cosplayer portraying Princess Leia from Star Wars.

Bud as The Doctor, posing with another cosplayer portraying Princess Leia from Star Wars.

 

QUESTION: What’s one cosplay project you’d like to do in the future?

What I would like to do in the future is to build a Tardis that would open up to reveal a control room. Really being bigger inside than out.

 

Bud as the original Doctor Who standing next to the later Tom Baker version of Doctor Who.

Bud as the original Doctor Who standing next to the later Tom Baker version of Doctor Who.

 

QUESTION: Are there any cosplayers (professional or otherwise) who inspire you? If so, why?

I’ m really inspired by all the cosplayers out there. From the people who spend hours and hours making their costumes, to the fellow who was at Portcon in pajamas, a bathrobe, and a towel as Arthur Dent from Hitchhiker’s Guide. I may not know the character you’re portraying, but that is my ignorance of the character and doesn’t reflect the quality of the costume. I also have to mention my son Ben who got me into cosplay and my wife Bonnie who has just started cosplaying, herself.

 

Bonnie, Bud's wife.

Bonnie, Bud’s wife.

 

QUESTION: What do you think sets you apart from other cosplayers?

I think the one thing that might set me apart from other cosplayers is my age. When Ben was trying to convince me to do cosplay, my age was a factor. During the past, on various Halloweens, I had been Indiana Jones (much younger of course) and Obi-Wan Kenobi (The Alec Guiness version) when I had my beard. Ben said no one was doing the Original Doctor and that there are a nice bunch of Doctor Who cosplayers at Portcon. He was right on both counts and the Doctors at Portcon were great! I also try and stay in character as much as I can but only when it’s fun.

 

Bud as the first Doctor next to his son, Ben, cosplaying as Hellboy.

Bud as the first Doctor next to his son, Ben, cosplaying as Hellboy.

 

QUESTION: Any advice for someone wishing to begin cosplaying?

To anyone starting cosplay; pick someone you like. Make your costume as complicated or as simple as you like but make it comfortable. Do it for fun and with a positive attitude and never say anything negative about another cosplayer!

 

Bud cosplaying as the First Doctor, standing next to a lady version of the Tom Baker Dr. Who.

Bud cosplaying as the First Doctor, standing next to a lady version of the Tom Baker Dr. Who.

 

QUESTION: Last but not least – do you have a website or Facebook page where people can check out your cosplay endeavors?

Yes, I am on facebook. You can see for yourself HERE.

 

A gethering of Doctors. Bud is on the left, second one in.

A gethering of Doctors. Bud is on the left, second one in.

Graduated from Saint Joseph's College Of Maine with a Bachelor's in Fine Arts - Creative Writing as well as Stonecoast, a low-residency MFA program through University of Southern Maine. Has several screenplays, a novel, graphic novel and a memoir all in development.

One Comment on “Cosplay Confessions: Bud Santos Cosplay

  1. Pingback: Cosplay Confessions: Ben Santos Cosplay | Away With Words

Leave a Reply

