Some of you who know me may know that I love to dance.

It’s true! I may not look it when I’m under the every day, normal circumstances you may find me in. However, when the conditions are right, when my inhibitions have been sufficiently suppressed – you might find me not only out on the floor, cutting a rug…you may also find me inciting others to do the same.

So, I figured for my second Top Ten list, I’d post my TOP TEN FAVORITE DANCE SONGS. This is going to be fun. Let me know what your favorite songs are in the comments!

10. FOOTLOOSE – KENNY LOGGINS

Footloose is one of those songs that’s just never going to go away for me. No matter how jaded the world gets, no matter what happens to the opinion of 1980’s pop culture – Kenny Loggins’ titular soundtrack offering is always there to make me tap my toes. It has a catchy beat, it’s fast-paced, and it makes me want to wear tight denim jeans and a tucked-in tee shirt and dance against oppression.

09. PARTY ROCK ANTHEM – LMFAO

I never really took to “shuffling” (mostly because I suck at footwork) but regardless, this song is one of the catchiest songs ever and is super-fun to dance to whether or not you’re shuffling or just flailing around like I do. The reason this is beating out Footloose for me at the moment is basically due to the momentum of the music. Both songs sort of have the same overall message, but Party Rock Anthem is a little more current, a little more kinetic.

08. DANCING WITH MYSELF – BILLY IDOL

The reason this song is at #8 and is beating out the previous two songs is because it’s not only a classic, but it’s from a genre that traditionally isn’t all about dancing. Yet, Billy Idol went ahead and made a completely danceable rock song. Aside from that, I typically dance by myself…so this is kind of perfect for me.

07. BOOTYLICIOUS – DESTINY’S CHILD

Sure, this could be considered a “chick” song – but beat knows no gender. If you hear this song and you’re NOT dancing your booty off – something may be seriously wrong with you. GET THAT CHECKED OUT. But really, from the sample-hook at the beginning through Beyonce’s singing, this song definitely had to make my top ten.

06. HOT MESS – CHROMEO

Chromeo is pretty much the perfect dance music. It blends 1980’s sounds with modern day sensibilities and it’s just beautiful. These guys really know what they’re doing, and I’m so glad that they decided to go this route. The dance scene needed these guys. It beats out the previous songs because of the unique niche they fill in my dance songs – a sort of longing nostalgia fulfilled in terms of retro-sounding dance beats.

05. MOVES LIKE JAGGER – MAROON 5 FT. CHRISTINA AGUILERA

I know a lot of people hate Maroon 5. I can say that I don’t like all of their music, for sure, but this song is catchy as hell and is super danceable. Give it a chance, I’m sure you’ll be tapping your feet to the beat along with me. The reason this song is so high on my list is because I danced to it with my brother for a silly YouTube video. It was fun, and if these guys can make me have so much fun they deserve to be high on my list.

04. GET LUCKY – DAFT PUNK

This song was sorely needed in our country. Seriously. Before Mark Ronson and Bruno Mars gave us Uptown Funk, this song quenched a thirst we were all collectively feeling for a soulful, funky, piece of music to come along. While Uptown Funk gave more of that to us than Get Lucky – the two songs were in the same vein and I’m so glad they were made.

03. UPTOWN FUNK – MARK RONSON FT. BRUNO MARS

As I said about Get Lucky, Uptown Funk really refines the funk and brings it home to us. When I first heard this, my girlfriend and I were blown away. It’s obviously a hit online, too, with everyone doing Uptown Funk parodies with Downtown Abbey or Harry Potter characters. This is a song that’s going to last.

02. SUPER FRESH [LXD REMIX] – BOYS NOIZE FT. KO THE LEGEND

When I dance, I dance with a little bit of pop/lock influence. I’m still learning, and it’s mostly my own thing, but this sort of music caters to my dance style which makes it #02 on my list. My main goal with dancing is just to have fun, and this is a super-fun song.

01. HUNG UP – MADONNA

Why is this song #1? Well, aside from the fact that she made this song when she was as old as she was (don’t laugh, people often become irrelevant much earlier than she has, if she even has yet) it’s also, to me, the perfect dance song. It’s got elements of everything in it, and on top of that – the video just makes you want to dance. This is one of those songs I go crazy for when I’m out dancing and I hear it come on.

So, there you have it. My Top Ten Favorite Dance Songs. It may be different than your list, so please share your favorites in the comments below so I can dance to them too!

With that, I leave you with that silly dance video I mentioned that I did with my brother. Keep in mind that I am nothing close to a professional dancer, and that I am not saying I’m the best. What I am saying is that I love to have fun and I had a lot of fun dancing with my brother and laughing, and then sharing it with y’all.

 

Graduated from Saint Joseph's College Of Maine with a Bachelor's in Fine Arts - Creative Writing as well as Stonecoast, a low-residency MFA program through University of Southern Maine. Has several screenplays, a novel, graphic novel and a memoir all in development.

One Comment on “My Top Ten Favorite Dance Songs

  1. Pingback: All Aboard The Blog Train | Away With Words

Leave a Reply

