Cosplay Confessions is yet another monthly feature I’ve added to my blog, though I’ve recently gotten a bunch of submissions so I may do it twice monthly if this persists. Every month (and maybe twice a month), I plan on featuring a different cosplayer and my interview with them, along with photos featuring their cosplays. This will not only be beneficial to the cosplayers themselves – because any publicity is good publicity when it comes to updating your fans on which conventions you’ll be at, and what you’re working on – but it will also be beneficial to those who are interested in cosplay as a hobby.

Since this is a new feature, I have asked some cosplayers I know to fill out my questions and it’s my great pleasure to introduce a man who probably needs no introduction if you’re in the New England area – James Ryan Jwanowski, aka “Boston Deadpool”. You may have seen him make waves at PAX East recently with his Metal Man cosplay, so it was really nice of him to take time out of his schedule for this interview. Thank you, James! On to the interview!

 

James Ryan Jwanowski - Boston's own Deadpool.

James Ryan Jwanowski – Boston’s own Deadpool.

 

QUESTION: Hello! Many people reading this may not know much about you. Please tell us a little bit about yourself. How long have you been cosplaying?

I’ve been cosplaying since 2011! Anime Boston was my first con and as you guessed it, classic Deadpool was my first cosplay!

 

James Ryan Jwanoswki cosplaying as Batpool. Photo by Dave Palmacci.

James Ryan Jwanoswki cosplaying as Batpool. Photo by Dave Palmacci.

 

QUESTION: Do you attend many conventions? Which ones are your favorite to attend?

Oh boy do I attend them! I pretty much try to make it to all the New England cons and also some big ones out of state. My favorites are Pax East, Anime Boston, Boston Comicon, Granite State Comicon, Hartford Comicon, Rhode Island Comicon, Super Mega Fest, New York Comicon, Katsucon, Another Anime Convention, annnnd I think that’s it for my favorites. There’re so many I’ve been to that they’re all like a blur sometimes. They have me hosting a lot of the costume contests organized by Pat Covey at the cons in the New England area. It’s a ton of fun and each contest I host seems to get better than the last! Apparently people think I’m funny. Go figure!

 

James Ryan Jwanoswki cosplaying as Death Wish (Green Deadpool). Photo by Nate Buchanan.

James Ryan Jwanoswki cosplaying as Death Wish (Green Deadpool). Photo by Nate Buchanan.

 

QUESTION: Do you have any pet peeves when it comes to cosplaying?

People who don’t shower, refuse to wear deodorant, or who don’t use soap in general and stink up a con. I get it. Some costumes are heavier than others which would cause one to sweat BUT COME ON! You have to know when you smell like a pig at some point, right??? Lol Bring some Axe body spray at least or a travel-sized deodorant stick. I can’t be the only one who has a small dispenser of cologne in his utility belt!

 

James Ryan Jwanowski as Metalman from the beloved Mega Man video game franchise.

James Ryan Jwanowski as Metal Man from the beloved Mega Man video game franchise.

 

QUESTION: What’s one cosplay project you’d like to do in the future?

Either 90’s Godzilla with light-up spines, smoke machine breath, animatronic jaw, and a speaker in the mouth for the iconic roar OR Samus Aran with lights and sound in the suit, and arm canon. I rarely see Varia Suit Samus. It’s just her zero suit, which is just fine but I’ve got a huge hard-on for Varia Suit Samus Aran and I would totally do a gender bend Samus!

 

James Ryan Jwanowski as the mysterious Shadow.

James Ryan Jwanowski as the mysterious Shadow.

 

QUESTION: Are there any cosplayers (professional or otherwise) who inspire you? If so, why?

I’ll be cliche and say all my cosplay friends, who are like my extended family at this point. I really only seek their input and approval on what I’m working on. They’ve been cosplaying longer than I have and just about all of them are beyond my skill level, so what they say matters to me when it comes to cosplay. I look up to them and I try to make them proud – impress them and myself. I will say the cosplayer Glitch Cos, Kevin Vanderbeck, has been showing me how to sculpt, mold, and cast these past few months. He’s seriously upping my skill set when it comes to cosplay so that gender bend Samus cosplay I mentioned might just be a reality at some point. He’s a great guy and beyond gifted in craftsmanship.

 

James Ryan Jwanowski as the X-Force version of Marvel's Deadpool.

James Ryan Jwanowski as the X-Force version of Marvel’s Deadpool.

 

QUESTION: What do you think sets you apart from other cosplayers?

Probably my mouth, my attitude, and the lack of a filter. They have me host these contests for a reason! Lol I firmly believe in bringing your character to life. What’s the point in having a sweet-ass costume when all you do is stand there and look bored? Interact with people! Bring the whole character to life and make someone’s day! Kids look at you as the real deal, so you better not disappoint them! You really wanna’ know what sets me apart? Check out a costume contest at any New England Comicon. Chances are I’m hosting something and you’ll get to see me in action.

 

James Ryan Jwanowski cosplaying as classic Deadpool.

James Ryan Jwanowski cosplaying as classic Deadpool.

 

QUESTION: Any advice for someone wishing to begin cosplaying?

Don’t listen to naysayers. Be who you want to be. Most importantly have FUN! Put the play in COSPLAY!!!

 

James Ryan Jwanowski as a breast cancer - fighting Deadpool.

James Ryan Jwanowski as a breast cancer – fighting Deadpool. Photo by Dawen Huang.

 

QUESTION: Last but not least – do you have a website or Facebook page where people can check out your cosplay endeavors?

I have a fan page on Facebook “Boston’s Deadpool” where I post all my progress pics and funny cat pictures! I have a Tumblr also called “Boston’s Deadpool” where I re-blog cool Deadpool fan art and share the best pics of all my cosplays!

 

James Ryan Jwanowski as Ultimate Deadpool.

James Ryan Jwanowski as Ultimate Deadpool.

Graduated from Saint Joseph's College Of Maine with a Bachelor's in Fine Arts - Creative Writing as well as Stonecoast, a low-residency MFA program through University of Southern Maine. Has several screenplays, a novel, graphic novel and a memoir all in development.

One Comment on “Cosplay Confessions: James Ryan Jwanowski Cosplay (Boston Deadpool)

Leave a Reply

