Earlier today I was sitting with my girlfriend on the futon in front of the TV. We were bored. She was reading a new book she’d picked up and I was scrolling through my Facebook feed. I noticed one of the trending topics on the right and my eyes lit up. A new Star Wars: The Force Awakens trailer. I grinned and went searching for the high-def trailer online.

I’d already seen the first teaser trailer multiple times. I’d seen the controversy about the new lightsaber design, the racial undertones of the new “black” stormtrooper played by John Boyega (who, in my opinion probably isn’t even a stormtrooper in the first place), the new stormtroopers themselves (with new armor and everything) and the little beach-ball droid. If (for some crazy reason) you haven’t seen that trailer yet, don’t go any further. Watch it before the newer one. Here, I’ll even post it for you:

Cool, right? A creepy voice. A glimpse of some X-Wings, the new Stormtroopers, some new characters and vehicles and droids and lightsabers. While still pretty cool, I don’t think Abrams convinced anyone that the new Star Wars flick was going to be that great with that trailer alone. However, when you see the NEW trailer – it’s a different ballgame, sirs and madams. Check it out:

Holy…SHIT! It’s like my mind was Alderaan and the trailer was the Deathstar. MIND = BLOWN. (See what I did there?!)

Seriously, though, when I saw the new trailer I literally cried my little fanboy eyes out for, like, three hours. But WHY?! Why did I cry, and why did so many others cry when they saw Han and Chewy at the end? It’s simple – Star Wars is our childhood. Star Wars is MY childhood. Seeing Han and Chewy like that? Seeing R2 being touched, presumably by Luke Skywalker? Seeing Leia (presumably) take a lightsaber into her hands (looked like Luke’s original lightsaber). These characters are ones we know better than some of the people in our real lives. We may not know the name of our closest co-worker’s children, but we sure as hell know that three of Jabba’s guards on his barge were named Klaatu, Barata, and Nikto.

My girlfriend never got much into Star Wars. She was more of a Star Trek fan. That’s fine, I figure both those franchises are mined from the same love of fantasy and science fiction – but for me, Star Trek never did it. I mean, I watched the hell out of Next Generation – but I sparsely watched re-runs of the original series and never got into Voyager or any of the rest of the arcs. It’s because Star Trek seemed a little too stuffy, a little too serious. By contrast, the same could be said about most of the Star Wars prequel trilogy. There was a lot of politics (blech), trade disputes (gag), and racing – probably three of my least favorite things in the entire world (and why I avoid the south). To this day, Star Wars Episode I: The Phantom Menace is the ONLY movie I’ve ever fallen asleep to in the theater. Yes, I am ashamed. No, it’s not my fault. It was the fault of wooden acting, uninspired story, insipid characters (Jar Jar, I will always hate you) and incessant CGI. This new film seems to go back to its roots. Not a ton of CGI…the original cast…cool characters….seems like it’ll be pretty good film overall, and much better than the prequel trilogy. Of course, it’s still only a teaser trailer – but it gives us hope. When I watch the new trailer, I am instantly that same little kid I was back when I watched Luke Skywalker deflect laser blasts on Jabba’s barge over the Sarlacc pit. Abrams is bringing back the excitement, channeling the adventure from the original.

I’ll admit, I’m kind of biased…

Me with actor Ray Park at Super Megafest.

Me with actor Ray Park (Darth Maul) at Super Megafest.

Me as Obi-Wan Kenobi from Star Wars: Episode III with Chewbacca.

Me as Obi-Wan Kenobi from Star Wars: Episode III with Chewbacca.

Me cosplaying as Obi-Wan Kenobi from Star Wars: Episode III

Me cosplaying as Obi-Wan Kenobi from Star Wars: Episode III

Me with some Mandalorians

Me with some Mandalorians

As you can see, I like Star Wars enough to dress up as Obi-Wan Kenobi on a regular basis. (And from Episode III, no less)

I’m not sure what exactly the new story line will be about, as most of the expanded universe was deemed non-canon by Lucas himself, probably to make the film rights easier to fiddle around with creatively. But none of that matters – because this new trailer has everyone excited, in hysterics. We all have the proverbial vapors, you bet.

Christmas can’t come soon enough.

Graduated from Saint Joseph's College Of Maine with a Bachelor's in Fine Arts - Creative Writing as well as Stonecoast, a low-residency MFA program through University of Southern Maine. Has several screenplays, a novel, graphic novel and a memoir all in development.

Leave a Reply

