Cosplay Confessions is yet another monthly feature I’ve added to my blog. Every month (and maybe twice a month) if I can, I plan on featuring a different cosplayer and my interview with them, along with photos featuring their cosplay. This will not only be beneficial to the cosplayers themselves – because any publicity is good publicity when it comes to updating your fans on which conventions you’ll be at, and what you’re working on – but it will also be beneficial to those who are interested in cosplay as a hobby.

Since this is a new feature, I have asked some cosplayers I know to fill out my questions and it’s my great pleasure to introduce a very talented cosplayer hailing from Vermont, Cheryl Wild. I first met Cheryl online – and she’s become a great online friend and source of inspiration from her many cosplays. She creates many of her cosplays from household items, and all of them look fantastic. So, without further ado – here is my interview with Cheryl – AKA WyldRyce Cosplay.

10341858_692003360874589_700707635957570564_n

QUESTION: Hello! Many people reading this may not know much about you. Please tell us a little bit about yourself. How long have you been cosplaying?

I’m thirty years old, married almost twelve years, and mother to two daughters ages nine and seven. I have been cosplaying since 2011. I hail from the great small state of Vermont and I’ve been a geek as long as I can remember. My fondest memories from when I was little was watching my dad play Dungeons & Dragons on a 5″ floppy disk and trying to collect every gaming console my brother and I could afford.

I’m in love with my dogs, my family and my life. I’m not a very active cosplayer, but I can tell you I love it just as much as anyone else does. My family and personal life always comes first before cosplay. I would label myself artistic because no matter what the medium is – it is one of my passions in life. From baking to drawing to sewing to building props, I love it all.

10392387_858286900912900_6482346898268584826_n

QUESTION: Do you attend many conventions? Which ones are your favorite to attend?

I try to attend at least one convention per year.  My first two years of cosplaying, I went to Boston Comic Con, Granite State Comic Con, and Super Mega Fest. I was unable to attend those last year, but I did pick up a new one with Vermont State Comic Con when they asked me to judge the costume contest.

1926879_633960620012197_3993661014020135039_n

QUESTION: Do you have any pet peeves when it comes to cosplaying?

I used to when I first started. I thought cosplay was supposed to be done a certain way or you had to have the right look. I was taking it too seriously. I have more of a carefree attitude about it now. Even when I don’t finish a costume on time, I’ll still wear what is done.

64857_439969916077936_1980532819_n

QUESTION: What’s one cosplay project you’d like to do in the future?

I would like to do some well-known characters that are more on the sexier side, like Poison Ivy or Catwoman.  I had a hard time with the fact I’m a mother to two growing girls and how they would see me. I’m glad I did wait until they were older so we could discuss what it means to be a woman, how to take care of your body, and not be ashamed of your body. I still take into consideration how much T&A I show for their sake because I don’t want to embarrass them.

182680_435552739852987_2034124554_n

QUESTION: Are there any cosplayers (professional or otherwise) who inspire you? If so, why?

I’m a little biased with this because I notice I tend to follow a lot of other female Asians. I didn’t have many peers that looked like me or even many famous people that looked like me so when I see people like Miss Gidget, Kris from JK Cosplay, Ani-Mia, Yaya Han it inspires me more than just that they make great costumes. Even actress Ming-Na Wen is a huge inspiration, especially since she kicks ass at 50. I love seeing strong, beautiful Asian women because it helps me accept who I am and who I’m striving to be.

1006348_585197468221846_2071670161_n

QUESTION: What do you think sets you apart from other cosplayers?

I dunno, maybe the fact that I have two kids? Or maybe that I’m one of the few Vermont-based cosplayers out there.

1466209_559965667411693_1537925268_n

QUESTION: Any advice for someone wishing to begin cosplaying?

Be humble, be kind, and be yourself 🙂

1452490_566827606725499_191165868_n

QUESTION: Last but not least – do you have a website or Facebook page where people can check out your cosplay endeavors?

You can find me on Facebook, or on Tumblr, or on Twitter.

1384049_550202431721350_1911256522_n

Graduated from Saint Joseph's College Of Maine with a Bachelor's in Fine Arts - Creative Writing as well as Stonecoast, a low-residency MFA program through University of Southern Maine. Has several screenplays, a novel, graphic novel and a memoir all in development.

Leave a Reply

