Friend Files is a feature I’ve added to Away With Words, this being the eighteenth installment. Past installments appear under the “Friend Files” tag on my blog. I will be interviewing a friend of mine and showcasing why they are a friend to me and what I like about them, and also a mini-interview (five questions) that detail what they think of me. It’s a way to acknowledge my friends out there and what they’re up to and also introduce them to my larger group of friends, acquaintances, and anyone else who might be interested in reading.

Today, I will be talking about Peyton Curran. Before I get into what I think of her, here is my mini-interview with Peyton (exchanged over Facebook) where she jotted down just a few thoughts:

Peyton Curran - Barista, Suicide Girl, Animal Lover.

Peyton Curran – Barista, Suicide Girl, Animal Lover.

PEYTON CURRAN’S FRIEND FILES INTERVIEW

ME: Give me some details about your life.

PEYTON CURRAN:  I am twenty three years old come November. I live in a zoo, with my rabbit Legolas, my husky lab mix Mila, and my overweight cat P.Kitty, a.k.a Spooks, and my boyfriend Benjamin. Benjamin and I have been together for five and a half years. I enjoy being adventurous, and try as best as I can to live on the wild side/do things I’ve never done before. I like hiking, traveling, and reading. I have little spare time due to a new job with an insurance agency I’ll be starting, and working at Starbucks. When I do have some time off, I try and hangout with a couple of my best friends, and get some errands done. I also am a Suicide Girl on the side of everything else I do. If some of you aren’t aware of what a Suicide Girl is, it is a website for alternative models. It is something I am comfortable with, and enjoy doing. I’m a very easy going person to get to know and talk to. Of course when you first meet someone, you can’t really determine what kind of life they’ve had up until you just met them. I would have to say I’ve lived a semi-normal life. One of the reasons I think that I am easy to talk to is because of everything that I have had to go through in my life so far, which gives me some perspectives on a variety of things. Examples being as follows.

I had my first boyfriend when I was thirteen – it was a summer romance. I was spending the summer at my father’s house. When it was time to go back to school in another state, I asked my mom if I could move in with my dad to stay with my boyfriend. She said yes. That relationship lasted a year and a couple months. In that time, his father committed suicide, and I had helped him through it. Then he started to use hard drugs only at the age of 16, so I had to end things. I ended up moving back to my moms, and had various long term boyfriends up until now. So the most I’ve ever been single is a couple of months in between. I have a brother and a sister that are both older than me, that I grew up with. I also met my half sister whom I didn’t know existed until I met her three years ago. She is also older than me, and my mom was very young when she had her, and was forced to give her up at birth. Between my brother, my sister, and my half sister, I have six nieces! Like I said before though, I have experienced quite a bit throughout my life, but that would be a novel if I were to write it all down. That’s quite a bit about me, but of course there is a ton more!

ME: How exactly did we meet?

PEYTON CURRAN: Well we met at our mutual job, which is Starbucks. You transferred from your store, into your current one, and tada! Stars aligned haha

ME: What is one good memory you have involving me?

PEYTON CURRAN: Well it’s not really much of a “single” memory, but I enjoy going back and forth with “that’s what she said” jokes all day everyday with you, and making everything as inappropriate as possible.

ME: Why exactly are we still friends?

PEYTON CURRAN: Well I think we work very well together, outside of work, as well as in. We have fun, and make the best out of the worst. Also you tell me who I should cosplay as (Black Cat), so that’s a plus.

ME: Anything you want me to plug?

PEYTON CURRAN: Hahahha, that is what she said! Maybe my INSTAGRAM or my new BLOG.

**************************************************************************

I met Peyton at the store I’m working at now. When I first met her, she was very open and very quick to laugh, and so we got along pretty well right from the start. One of the first times I hung out with her in some capacity outside of work was for a friend’s birthday party at Bull Feeney’s here in Portland, Maine, and I was sort of able to see her outside of the stuffy work element and see that she loves to have fun and be where the fun is. She got up and danced on the stage with a couple of her friends, and it was fun to see her doing her thing.

Later on, Peyton and a few of my other work friends all got together to go to Muse Paintbar, also in Portland, and that endures as one of my favorite memories of Peyton outside of work. She got all giggly and loud like the others, but after a while her responsible side started to take over and it was great to see her try to rein in some of the others, who were a bit more tipsy.

At work, Peyton is a great shift leader – she keeps things fresh and interesting on her shifts, and on top of that she lets a bunch of bullcrap just slide right off her back, which is one of the main reasons I’m friends with her. Peyton is an artist, an animal lover, a Suicide Girl, and is beautiful inside and out – what’s not to love about her? On top of all that, her boyfriend Ben is such a nice guy – I’ve seen him bring food to her and generally just be kick ass and give boyfriends a good name.

My workplace would definitely be a much less interesting environment without Peyton, and though we still haven’t hung out a lot outside of work – I’m sure there’s plenty of room for that in the future. And now, I will post some images relevant to my friendship with Peyton, as well as some others which I think embody her spirit as a person.

I was assigned Peyton when we were doing Secret Santa at my work. I made her this mixed-media artwork of The Bride from Kill Bill as her gift once I discovered she loves Quentin Tarantino

I was assigned Peyton when we were doing Secret Santa at my work. I made her this mixed-media artwork of The Bride from Kill Bill as her gift once I discovered she loves Quentin Tarantino

I took this photo of Peyton when we were at the Muse Paintbar in Portland

I took this photo of Peyton when we were at the Muse Paintbar in Portland

Peyton has a really cool sense of style and beauty.

Peyton has a really cool sense of style and beauty.

Peyton and her boyfriend, Benjamin

Peyton and her boyfriend, Benjamin

Peyton and her dog on the beach.

Peyton and her dog on the beach.

Peyton is the coolest.

Peyton is the coolest.

Graduated from Saint Joseph's College Of Maine with a Bachelor's in Fine Arts - Creative Writing as well as Stonecoast, a low-residency MFA program through University of Southern Maine. Has several screenplays, a novel, graphic novel and a memoir all in development.

2 Comment on “Friend Files #18 – Peyton Curran

  1. Pingback: Friend Files #24 – Nicole Davis-Marquis | Away With Words

Leave a Reply

