Recently, I asked a few of my friends on Facebook if they had any questions for me, anything they were wondering about me that might make an interesting blog post. I have lots of things I want to write about, you see, but they’re all pretty serious or emotional things from my past. So I wanted something lighthearted. Well, a few people answered and gave me some good suggestions – and with today’s post, I’ll be going with a question my writer friend Derek posed to me – “Where did your interest in history spring from?”

If you know me at all, you know that I am very interested in history. Mostly American history, which being from America sounds natural. But, really – it’s because for the past few years I’ve been doing research for a Civil War – era steampunk story, and more recently a story set during the American Revolution. I watch 18th century cooking shows on YouTube (Seriously, you need to check out Jas. Townsend & Son because they have got that down to a science. I love all their videos). I constantly watch documentaries on the American Civil War, or the War For Independence. I have become somewhat of a collector of books regarding both these subjects. I’ve been to numerous American battlefields, including Antietam in Sharpsburg, Maryland – and Bunker Hill in Boston, Mass. I’ve been involved with re-enactors and re-enactments of both the Civil and Revolutionary wars. And I’m a huge fan of almost any pop culture media featuring either of those two battles, including movies like The Patriot, or television shows like Turn: Washington’s Spies, or video games like Assassin’s Creed III, or comic books like Rebels. You get the idea.

 

thepatriot-hawk-12-400-sg

Because even though the movie wasn’t super-accurate, this is just kickass. TAKE THAT, LOBSTERBACK!

In addition to being apparently obsessed with our nation’s two civil wars, and the time periods in which they occurred – I am also interested in history in general. Other countries, other time periods. But what’s interesting to note is that I used to HATE history. Not history in and of itself – but history as taught in school.

As far back as I can remember, history was always one of my most hated subjects. As a child, I remember just being constantly inundated with fact after fact after fact, some of which would be revised as the years went on because historians and scholars would dig up new facts. On top of that, we had to learn about acts of congress and certain bills of law and the history of states and countries not our own. And endless dates and names. How do you expect a young kid to want to digest all that information at an accelerated rate? In high school, one of my history teachers was nice but he had the most boring voice, and boring class room, and when he talked – as he droned on and on, a little ball of spittle would form on his lower lip and stretch in a band to his top lip. Focusing on that, and his monotone voice, and the warm, dry air in the class room would make me constantly want to fall asleep.

So, mostly – the institution of school is what made me originally disinterested in history. But I found history on my own, seeking out people who are excited about it, who do re-enactments or who publish blogs about it online. Going to the actual location where the Battle of Bunker (Breed’s) Hill happened is a lot different than hearing someone with a monotonous voice drone on and on about it. When I read about it in school textbooks, I wanted to fall asleep. But when I stood there, next to the statue of William Prescott on Bunker Hill – I cried.

263206_10151404297741931_807789774_n

This is a photo of me, taken on the Maine Civil War Trail. I used a filter to make the photo appear old. I was sitting in a replica of a Civil War-era tent.

So, what made me transition from a history hater to a history buff? It was the details. Seeing and walking in the old houses people used to live in. Reading old letters, with real human emotion and concerns. Seeing physical objects actually owned by real live people, in person, with my own eyes. Walking the fields where hundreds or thousands died. Seeing historians try to re-live the past through re-enactments and historical demonstrations. All that is infinitely more interesting than reading about the bullet points of each year in history, or lists of accomplishments by various historical figures with no real personal context or interest.

So if you think you might be interested in history, try being in the actual physical realm of these places and people who are long since passed. It worked for me, and I’m sure a lot of other people as well. History can be fun, and with it – you can grasp your own identity and place in history that much easier.

JoeCreepy.jpg

Me in a graveyard in Vermont. I sometimes go to graveyards in order to find names for historical research. But sometimes it’s just to see the styles of headstones, or to get inspiration.

11034898_10152706859366931_2988504346826656280_n

Me when I was at the Battle Road Trail in Lincoln, Mass. Partly for research, partly for fun. This set-up was in an interactive exhibit that was rather well done at the visitor’s center.

10603403_10202691506472950_844516981448048302_n

Me at the final resting place of famed American poet Henry Wadsworth Longfellow. If you’ve been following this blog, you may know that I’m rather obsessed with Longfellow, as well as with his good friend Nathaniel Hawthorne. I have written posts about them in the past and how they have affected my own life.

1914610_354713651930_2691275_n

This is me threshing wheat the old fashioned way at Colonial Williamsburg in Virginia.

321562_10151370295336931_58497191_n

This is me, visiting the Old Manse in Concord, Mass., made famous by the popular writers who had connections to it such as Nathaniel Hawthorne, Ralph Waldo Emerson, and Henry David Thoreau.

31067_392425586930_5952393_n

When I went to the battlefield of Antietam in Sharpsburg, Maryland – I walked around with a union “kepi” which was more of a novelty item I bought in the gift shop.

Graduated from Saint Joseph's College Of Maine with a Bachelor's in Fine Arts - Creative Writing as well as Stonecoast, a low-residency MFA program through University of Southern Maine. Has several screenplays, a novel, graphic novel and a memoir all in development.

Leave a Reply

